Testimonials

 Mr. and Mrs. Murray. “We got married on Friday the 2nd March 2018 and our reception was in the Abbey Hotel, Roscommon. As storm Emma descended upon the country and brought Ireland to a standstill, who knew what lay ahead for us on our wedding day. As anxiety and worry set in and the rollercoaster of emotions began, a comforting phonecall from our wedding co-ordinator Lisa finally brought the tears to a front. Tears of relief on this occasion as the Abbey hotel understood what we must be going through. Lisa and the Grealy family offered compassion, reassurance, help and assistance in order to make things as easy as possible for us and the situation we were in. Let's not forget that a red weather warning was in place and people were advised to stay indoors and not to leave their homes due to the snow. This however did not stop the Abbey Hotel and their staff showing up to work to prepare and present what can only be described as the first class service we received on our wedding day. The food on the day was superb and more than lived up to the reputation we had heard so often about. We are still receiving compliments to that regard.  From the minute we walked through the door to organise our wedding, to the moment we left, the hospitality and professionalism of Lisa, the Grealy family and their staff shone through. For this we will be forever grateful and we will never forget all you did for us. Your hotel will come highly recommended by us. Thanks again from the bottom of our hearts, the new Mr. and Mrs. Murray.

 

Denise Groarke reviewed Abbey Hotel Roscommon — 5 star

Myself & my husband got married in the abbey hotel on the 18th November, I cannot recommend this hotel enough. From the day we booked the abbey on the lead up to our wedding they could not do enough for us, very professional , warm inviting reception every time we visited. On the day of our wedding the service was top class, the food was out standing & every need for ourselves & our guests was catered for. I would like to thank Lisa for your help & guidance to the lead up to our wedding. I would especially like to thank Tom Greally & the Greally family for making our day so special & helping with every detail, thank you, Denise & Patrick

Another happy wedding couple share their Testimonial about their St. Patrick’s Day Wedding at the Abbey
“I don't think there is any more I can say that hasn't been said already but I'll give it a go.
Myself and my wife Michelle got married in the Abbey Hotel on March 17th 2018.
All I can say is that it was perfect from start to finish.
The staff, the food, the room decoration, it was all just fantastic. Last but far from least is Lisa Mullally, the wedding co-ordinator. Our wedding was a small affair with 31 guests in total but our small size was not a problem for Lisa at all, we received top class treatment from the minute we arrived. Nothing was too much and she ensured that we had nothing to worry about all day. 
My cousin is getting married in June and has everything booked but she came up to me today and said if she hadn't everything booked already she'd be booking the Abbey without question.
We would have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending the Abbey to couples thinking of choosing it as a wedding venue.
Our day was simply perfect with friends saying it was one of the best weddings they had been to.
Everyone genuinely had a great day.
If we could give more than 5 stars we would.
Westley & Michelle Freeman

Theresa Henderson reviewed Abbey Hotel Roscommon — 5 star
January 1 · 
 

We held our wedding reception at the Abbey in December 2017 - I could not recommend them highly enough as a wedding venue! It totally exceeded our expectations. Nothing was too much for Lisa, Adrian and all the team. All our guests commented on how great the service was and how well organised the whole day was. Thank you so much for making our day so special!


Ita Mc Dermott reviewed Abbey Hotel Roscommon — 5 star

Where to start, we cannot say enough good things about the Abbey. This is mostly down to Lisa the wedding coordinator. She was an absolute pleasure to talk to and discuss things with. She's a woman that knows her job inside out. Nothing is a problem to Lisa. The meal was simply fabulous, efficient, hot, fresh and there was no shortage of seconds. Even some guests complimented how nice the cup of tea was. The ballroom and the Abbey itself looked fabulous. The Greally family were on hand to welcome us and delighted to see the horse and carriage. The staff were brilliant especially the bar staff, again no delays getting served. If your thinking about the Abbey for any event, we would highly recommend it. Ita and Shane.

Rachel Johnston Clondalkin reviewed Abbey Hotel Roscommon — 5 star Attended a wedding yesterday. Absolutely Fab. Service was amazing & place is beautiful. The owner went around making sure everyone was happy and he was extremely welcoming. His personal touch is really impressive
Shirley Nestor reviewed Abbey Hotel Roscommon — 5 star Fantastic place for a wedding. Super job and professional service was had the day of our wedding. Thanks very much to everyone involved.

Roisin & Paudie Lydon

 "Paudie and I had our wedding at the Abbey Hotel on Saturday 12th of August and we couldn’t be happier with how everything went in the hotel. From the warm welcomes and fabulous food to the friendly staff and excellent service it was just perfect from start to finish. So many guests commented on the ‘homely’ feel of the hotel with its character and fabulous grounds & gardens. We would like to say a huge thank you to the Grealy family, wedding co-ordinator Lisa Mulally and all the staff at the Abbey Hotel for a truly amazing day. The ballroom looked beautiful and everywhere was immaculate. "

 Kevin & Mairead O’Reilly on Wed, 5th October, 2016 "Top notch place for a wedding,  food excellent and service to match, would like to thank Tom, Adrian (Grealy) for making our day extra special, you can't go wrong with the Abbey"

 Ciara & Patrick Connellon  "Can we both just say that the Abbey Hotel far outweighed our expectations for the wedding. The food was spectacular and the service was commented on by all our guests as the best that they had seen. You really did cover all the smallest details which were the finishing touches. Many Thanks for everything"

 Tara & Peter Chamberson 
"The Management and Staff at The Abbey were exceptional and couldn't do enough for us. The wedding co ordinator is so friendly and accommodating, going above and beyond to ensure everything went smoothly on the day. The food was amazing and piping hot. The ballroom has been renovated since our wedding and is stunning. I highly recommend The Abbey Hotel as a wedding venue".

 

Seamus & Mary Dolanon 
"Everything was perfect in every way. The Abbey Hotel in Roscommon couldn't have done enough for us. The food was excellent. People are still talking about the outstanding meal 3 weeks later. The service was as good as the meal. The staff are lovely. I can without hesitation recommend this venue. Always fabulous at the Abbey couldn't get a nicer hotel with the friendliness”


Breege Regan McCormackOn behalf on behalf of myself and my new husband I would like to thank the Grealy family, wedding co-ordinator Lisa and all the staff at the Abbey Hotel for a truly amazing day at our recent wedding, the food and service was exceptional and the ballroom decor was fabulous. Adrian ensured everything ran smoothly on the day. From the first day we choose the Abbey Hotel Roscommon as our wedding venue they were so accommodating and nothing was a problem. We can't thank you enough for making our day so so special. Breege and Sean xx

Becks MaloneIf you are looking for a hotel for your wedding definitely book the Abbey; Lisa who is the wedding co ordinator and the Grealy family who run the hotel really went above and beyond to make sure our day went off without a hitch. The food was amazing. They really cant do enough for you and from the moment we booked the hotel to our wedding day they made everything easy and put our minds at ease from the start. The service was prompt and professional and had all our guests complimenting from start to finish. They really made a great day brilliant and we cant thank them enough”.

Laura Tinsley Myself & my husband had our wedding reception in The Abbey hotel on a gloriously sunny day on the 17th of June. We live in the UK but Lisa our wedding co-ordinator was so accomadating & flexible throughout the entire planning process & nothing was too much trouble. The service & food was top class on the day & our guests, a large number of which where from the UK, are still raving & complimenting us about. The Abbey hotel is a gem & we where so proud to show of true Irish hospitality which the Grealy family have down to a fine art. Sincere thank you to the Grealy family, staff & Lisa for a perfect day.

 Nadia Kartas Ni Cinnéide – “If you are looking for a wedding venue that does everything to perfection, treats you on a personal and professional manner and gives you undivided attention in the planning of your big day then The Abbey Hotel is the place to go. We had our wedding here on the 3rd of June Lisa the wedding coordinator provided us with a flawless service she met all our requirements to the highest of standards. Adrienne was the duty manager who was present during the service of our wedding and provided us and our guests with a five star service. The food is unbelievably good just try it yourself. And finally the staff and the Grealy family of the Abbey hotel are the friendliest of people I have ever met within the hotel industry so thank you all so much for making our wedding the most spectacular day of our lives. 

by Ita & Shaneon Fri, 9th February, 2018

Where to start, we cannot say enough good things about the Abbey. This is mostly down to Lisa the wedding coordinator. She was an absolute pleasure to talk to and discuss things with. She's a woman that knows her job inside out. Nothing is a problem to Lisa. The meal was simply fabulous, efficient, hot, fresh and there was no shortage of seconds. Even some guests complimented how nice the cup of tea was. The ballroom and the Abbey itself looked fabulous. The Greally family were on hand to welcome us and delighted to see the horse and carriage. The staff were brilliant especially the bar staff, again no delays getting served. If your thinking about the Abbey for any event, we would highly recommend it. Ita and Shane.

 

by Roisin & Paudieon Fri, 9th February, 2018

Paudie and I had our wedding at the Abbey Hotel on Saturday 12th of August and we couldn’t be happier with how everything went in the hotel. From the warm welcomes and fabulous food to the friendly staff and excellent service it was just perfect from start to finish. So many guests commented on the ‘homely’ feel of the hotel with its character and fabulous grounds & gardens. We would like to say a huge thank you to the Grealy family, wedding co-ordinator Lisa Mulally and all the staff at the Abbey Hotel for a truly amazing day. The ballroom looked beautiful and everywhere was immaculate. Adrian & Lisa were so professional and ensured everything ran smoothly on the day – the timing of the food, speeches, music, tea /coffee & cake etc. From the first day we choose the Abbey Hotel Roscommon as our wedding venue they were so accommodating and nothing was a problem. We can't thank you enough and would most definitely recommend The Abbey Hotel to any future couples.

 

by Rebecca & Peteron Fri, 9th February, 2018

If you are looking for a hotel for your weddimg definitely book the abbey; Lisa who is the wedding co ordinator and the Grealy family who run the hotel really went above and beyond to make sure our day went off without a hitch. The food was amazing. They really cant do enough for you and from the moment we booked the hotel to our wedding day they made everything easy and put our minds at ease from the start. The service was prompt and professional and had all our guests complimenting from start to finish. They really made a great day brilliant and we cant thank them enough.

 

 

by Jacinta & Michael Tiernanon Fri, 9th February, 2018

We had our wedding which was a civil ceremony in the Abbey hotel last Thursday 28th December. .Anything I say about the Abbey hotel would not do it justice. It was fantastic from start to finish. .Lisa the wedding co-ordinator is an amazing person, brilliant at her job & Tom the owner is gentleman. .Nothing we asked for was ever too much hassle,from the very start always at hand to assist in any way..The day itself the suite for the ceremony was beautifully decorated and the hotel really emphasised the Christmas feel..The meal was absolutely fantastic,our guests kept praising it.Staff were so helpful and were excellent in particular Luke at tending to the young children and making sure they had all they wanted. .I would recommend any couple thinking of getting married to really consider Abbey hotel. You will go along way to find anything better..Thank you for making our day so special. .Jacinta &Michael Tiernan.

by Emma & David Larkinon Fri, 9th February, 2018

Hi Lisa, Myself and David and my family cannot thank you and all the staff at the Abbey for hosting our New Years Eve wedding. Everyone was very helpful and friendly throughout the planning and on the day itself. The food was amazing and there was seconds which kept all the guests happy!! When we arrived to the hotel everything looked lovely; yourself and Dooleys flowers had the hallway and the ballroom looking lovely. We were very impressed. I had lots of ideas and you took the time to make all these happen on the day. Once again, myself and David would like to say a huge thank you to all at the Abbey and hope to visit again soon. Emma and David

by Tanya & Michael Caslin on Tue, 23rd January, 2018

We got married on the 22nd December 2017 in the Abbey Hotel, I cannot recommend this venue enough, the service was outstanding from beginning to end, our guests all talked about how beautiful the hotel looks and how amazing the food was on arrival and the meal was delicious it was so efficient,hot and there was plenty of seconds even though people were not able for them. Lisa was our wedding coordinator, she is fantastic at her job, she was absolutely brilliant in the lead up to our wedding and on the day itself. She made the planning of our special day so easy, nothing was any hassle, any questions we had were answered promptly by email or phone. She was extremely helpful and an absolute pleasure to deal with. Also in the lead up to the wedding the reception team and Elaine in reservations was always on hand and there to help. The waiting team was outstanding, the attention that we were given was second to none. We would like to thank Lisa,Tom and the Grealy family and all team at the Abbey Hotel for the beautiful wedding memories we will have forever. We would highly recommend the Abbey Hotel.
Tanya and Michael Caslin xx

by Mary Moore on Wed, 22nd November, 2017

We held our wedding reception in The Abbey Hotel in Roscommon on Saturday the 28th October and we had the most wonderful day of our lives. The Grealy Family and all the staff in the hotel were absolutely brilliant. Our guests were full of praise for the meal - it was served piping hot and the food as usual in The Abbey Hotel was fabulous. Our guests were so complimentary all day of everything to do with the hotel. There was a wonderful atmosphere all day and all the staff were so obliging to our guests. In the run up to the wedding The Grealy Family and Lisa the wedding coordinator were so helpful and that took so much pressure off us and allowed us to really relax and enjoy the day as we knew that they had every situation covered. Thank you again Mary & Billy Moore

by Anita Penrose on Wed, 22nd November, 2017

We had our wedding in the Abbey 17th November 2017
To say it was a dream would be an understatement. From the moment we booked the abbey lisa and the team made sure all our needs were met . Upon arrival the night before my famply and I were made feel so welcome . The Grealy family have made the abbey a wonderful home from home ...it truly is a hidden gem it also boasts a picturesque abbey ruins to the rear of the hotel which adds to its charm . From top of house to housekeeping staff service is impeccable and no job seemed like a big ask ..
The fortfield suite was perfect for our civil ceremony And Lisa made sure we were all at ease and got everyone where they nended to be .
We cannot find fault with the abbey all of our guests thoroughly enjoyed their stay .. food and service is fab
Definitely the Abbey is a perfect setting for weddings especially winter weddings as the ambience in the bar area with candles and fires lit .. no detail was left out we will be forever grateful to the Grealy family Lisa Mulally and all the staff at the Abbey Hotel Roscommon. Our dream day was made a reality ☺

by Monica O'Reilly on Wed, 22nd November, 2017

We can't recommend the Abbey Hotel enough for a wedding ... They really know what they're at! It is a beautiful cosy hotel that can still cater for a big number (such as our wedding). The food was excellent, the ball room looked amazing and they we're incredibly efficient. Lisa and the team were also very helpful in setting up different pieces for the day ... Sweet table, guestbook and the flowers for the tables. We had a fantastic day and I would have no hesitation in advising friends and family to choose the Abbey hotel for their big day.

by kariny on Fri, 13th October, 2017

So my Husband and I gor married on the Abbey hotel on may 20th this year it was the most amazing day that we ever had the service was 100% we got all the help needed and also they made sure all our guest were all feeling special. The ball room is the most beautiful that i have ever seen and they have also the most amazing views for pictures inside and outside the hotel. I recommend the Abbey 100%

by Katy and Ivan on Wed, 11th October, 2017

We had our wedding at the Abbey Hotel, Roscommon on 06th October.

We chose the Abbey Hotel because it is a building with great charactor, because of its reputation for great food and because it has only one large function room guaranteeing one wedding per day.

The Abbey Hotel and in particular Lisa, the wedding coordinator, could not have been more helpful in the weeks leading up to our big day. They listened to us and took all we said on board while giving us ideas and guidance about how our day would go.

The food was incredible! All of our guests raved about the meal. The groom himself is ceoliac and the Abbey made sure that he missed out on nothing. Canepes and evening finger food was specifically prepared for him and our other guests with dietry requirements.

The function room looked beautiful for our day. Lisa placed all our personal touches perfectly around the room and even if our guests didn't notice, we certainly did.

by Aisling Murray on Tue, 10th October, 2017

We had our wedding in the Abbey on the 29th of April 2017. I can't praise the staff and owners enough. From the minute we contacted the hotel for a viewing they made us feel very welcome. Everyone in the hotel is extremely helpful and friendly. They were always available to answer any questions we had, they could recommend bands, photographers etc and would always work around out schedule if we needed to meet. The week before the wedding Geraldine and Lisa were on the phone for any queries I had. They even designed a separate menu for my aunt (she has special dietary requirements)- the day before the wedding. The day of the wedding was completely flawless and that is thanks to everyone in the Abbey. The food, service and drink was out of this world. We didn't have to worry about anything on the day of the wedding thanks to everyone in the hotel. Even the morning after the wedding, Tom (the owner) went and carried down my uncles breakfast, (my unlce is in his 70's), got him the paper and sat beside him discussing the weather. The best decision we ever made was to have our wedding in the Abbey. I am proud to say I am an Abbey Bride. I wholeheartedly recommend the Abbey Hotel for ANY award it has been nominated for.

by Lisa and Damian Grehan on Wed, 4th October, 2017

Damian and I got married in the Abbey Hotel on the 1st of July, the venue was outstanding and the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful especially our wedding coordinator Lisa. The ballroom was impeccably decorated and the honeymoon suite was amazing it was a truly wonderful wedding experience and we highly recommend it to couples in search of the perfect venue for the wedding of there dreams. We couldn't recommend it highly enough.

by Zita Lynch on Mon, 2nd October, 2017

My husband and I had our Wedding Reception at the Abbey Hotel on 11th August 2017. We cannot thank the staff enough for our special day; both the service and food were outstanding. All our guests were complimenting the food! The hotel and surrounding grounds are perfect for stunning photos. Lisa the wedding coordinator looked after us with any queries we had in the run up to the day. Tom Grealy looked after us on the day and he ensured everything ran smoothly, our day truly was amazing. Highly recommend The Abbey Hotel.

by Leanne Dunne on Sat, 30th September, 2017

From start to finish nothing was a problem for the management and staff at The Abbey Hotel. All of our guests commented on the venue,food and service. It's been five weeks since our wedding and our guests are still talking about the wonderful time they had at The Abbey Hotel. We can never thank them enough it's a day we will always remember. Leanne & Alan Dunne

by Alan & Carmel Flood on Sat, 30th September, 2017

We got married in September and cannot praise the Abbey Hotel highly enough as a fantastic wedding venue.

My husband and I live in Sydney and so had the difficult task of organising the wedding from there but the Abbey staff were very responsive on email and phone and helped us assist any of our guests special requirements.

All of my guests from abroad as well as local, loved the venue. It has such character and we got some truly amazing photographs with beautiful scenery and backdrops.

The food was top quality and remarked on by lots of guests and the order of events went very smoothly. It was all so well organised that we could relax and enjoy the day with zero stress. The package was very reasonably priced in comparison to some other hotels.

We were 100% happy with our choice of venue and would highly recommend it to any future brides and grooms.

Alan and Carmel Flood.

by Lorna Ryan (Kennedy) on Fri, 29th September, 2017

Where shall I start... The Abbey Hotel is amazing, our wedding was magical. I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights prior to the wedding and I was so well looked after, the staff were fantastic and very welcoming. The morning of our wedding was what I can only describe as perfect, so relaxed and once again there was lots of fun and laughter with staff and the Grealy family. We had a lot of guests arriving from Dublin, Meath and the USA and they were all made feel so welcome, each guest received top quality service. Our wedding reception was what every girl dreams of, the food was exquisite and the layout was 5 Star. The hotel grounds are stunning, such a treat for photographers! From start to finish it was professional and the wedding coordinator Lisa was brilliant, we can't thank her enough. It was without doubt the best day we have ever had and it's all down to the hotel staff and the Grealy family, fantastic people. We will be forever grateful. Magical memories from The Abbey Hotel.

 

by Jenny & Joey Rooney on Thu, 24th November, 2016

On behalf of my Husband and I, we would like to sincerely thank the Abbey Hotel Roscommon for making our Wedding Day such a wonderful occasion on New Years Eve 2015. From the first instance we met with the Grealy family and Wedding Co-Ordinators Elaine & Aishling, we were sure they would go over and beyond to make our Wedding Day very special, and that they all did, very well too we must add! We cannot thank you all enough for your first class hospitality and service. With being a family run establishment, we were very lucky to have many members of the Grealy family and our Wedding Co-Ordinators on hand to help, to ensure our day ran without a glitch. The food was without question of a 5* status and our guests throughly enjoyed same. We are so happy we choose this venue for our Wedding Day & we would highly recommend this Hotel to prospective Wedding couples. Thank you all so much for giving us a day we will never forget. Mr & Mrs Joey & Jenny Rooney.

by Maria & Rory Dunne on Wed, 12th October, 2016

Just want to say a huge thank you for everything you did on Saturday and the lead up to our wedding. You're an absolute pro and a pleasure to deal with! We had an amazing day. Everything was perfect! The room, the tables, the food, everything was unreal. So many people said to us they have been at weddings all over the country & never have got food as good! Adrian & staff were absolutely fabulous. Can't thank you all enough.

by Ciara & Patrick Connell on Thu, 6th October, 2016

Can we both just say that the Abbey Hotel far outweighed our expectations for the wedding. The food was spectacular and the service was commented on by all our guests as the best that they had seen. You really did cover all the smallest details which were the finishing touches. Many Thanks for everything Ciara & Patrick Connell

 

 

 
  • Overall my stay was excellent. The only thing was no bottle of water in room was a long way to bar to get one! Beautiful tranquil hotel perfect for a getaway as a couple or with friends.

    Anon,

  • Lovely stay at the Abbey. Good food, comfortable and spacious room and attentive, professional and helpful staff.

    Anon,

  • excellent service yet again, always a pleasure staying here.

    Anon,